I have this book from 1804

it’s the Times newspaper

with strange articles that I  adore.

~

I have bound up tight

newspapers of the first transatlantic Zeppelin flight.

of the first air raid in the us fight.

~

I have photos of immigrants

coming off ships

Her Majesty’s army

boys with guns on their hip

~

The first olmypics

Hitler before power

Harry Truman in his finest hour.

~

I have the Books of Knowledge

from 1942

poetry, science, Art, leaders

nature, plus things to make and do.

~

Reading the facts from between the two

the facts  changed frame.

and I thought,”This can’t be true!”

History is supposed to stay the same!

~

When I was a girl

I joined the cities first Girl Choir

I was there at the first,

before they reached Higher.

~

now international

they sang before the pope

Records from the 1st year

are somehow lost without a hope.

 

Dairyshow in my county

is a huge affair now.

Guess who was the first

to a big hoopla?

went to state and won 2nd overall?

 

Last month I requested

something that showed what I did

you know, so I could show my children

I was something as a kid.

~

They responded back

“Were sorry but you  were not the 1st.

We asked around, because records we lack.

It was some guy named Herst.

~

I knew what they told me did not track.

How did history change so much in 20 years?

trying to prove things has put me to tears.

I don’t know how to get my own history back.

how messed up is that?

~

History I feel

isn’t the truth

~

Oh certain facts are, I am sure

But its like those tales where the tale is true

but the facts have been changed maam,

The rest is just Poo.

~

I do have some records

that have recorded my past fate

a scholarship to DC

only person to be adopted twice in my state

~

A letter from the Opera saying I got in

a writing award from Levar Burton

saying, You Win!

Artwork I did that hung in a museum gallery

most of those things fill me with glee.

~

But if I didn’t have those things anymore

if I couldn’t prove it

would History put someone else’s name

Where mine now sits?

~

I am not saying History is totally wrong

but I think it needs to learn a new tune

to the song.

~

~

~