Persephone’s Daughter Part 3

I awoke to wonder and delight
Learning and exploring
Cerberus by my side
Every day I discovered more
Walking upon the Stygian shore

Hades.. No, father showed me his kingdom
Together we walked
I listened avidly as he talked

I watched as he helped
Poor souls come through
I understood their bewilderment
As I was still pretty new

He showed me his city
He called it Erebus
It was dark and gloomy
Covered in mist

He looked so sad
Upon his black throne
Day after day
Listening to them moan

Stern and unyielding
Judgements would be passed
By three frightening judges
Sending people on at last

Hades would comfort
He brought them ease
Words memorized
And along brought peace

Watching my parents
Sitting on their throne
Bewildered I felt
That I had never known

She so beautiful
With a piercing stare
Wiping minds of their grief
Upon her head
A violet wreath

Those in love were a special fare
She became joyful
And throw flowers in the air
Bright shining torches
would be carried with flair

She always looked over
And gave me a wink
As my father just looked around
And looked sort of bleak

But then they would whisper
And shake their head
First time I saw that
I admit, my stomach filled with lead

Then I beheld a wondrous sight
He tossed back his hair and grinned
In delight

My father stood up and laughed.
Laughed , with glee!
He pulled out something
and tossed it toward me

A cornucopia blew out of his hands
And a roar could be heard
Through out the upper lands

As the earth was prosperous
For the people above
My parents both looked at me
Eyes shining with love.

To be continued…

