before my mother asked if I would be her caretaker

she had one before.

This is a woman I have come to abhor.

 

The daughter of her best friend

it seemed alright at first

But then my moms body started to shut down

and everyone said it was the end.

 

inpatient hospice

is where she was sent

and this woman would not let any of us in.

My mother was dying and I wasn’t allowed to say goodbye.

 

But My mom got better and wanted to go home

that’s when This woman abandoned her and left her all alone.

She wouldnt give me moms records

and refused all of moms calls

thinking back now

i think she was afraid to have mom know what She did to us all.

 

So I started out without the slightest clue

but between my mom and me

we somehow made it through

things got easier. it soon became routen.

 

We knew her cancer wasnt stopping

and miracles were coming to an end

but neither of us expected that this last chemo

would not be her friend.

 

It shut down her abdomin

and we raced to the hospital

once again.

all they could do this time was manage her pain.

for two weeks we were there. twenty hours a day

I was right beside her.

 

We heard rumors that the hospital

was gonna let her go

what do I do now?

where do you go?

 

thats when she told me

hospice for her home

was all ready to go

all we had to do

was let the woman know.

 

(This is when the insanity began

and how do I wish it would now end)

 

I called The woman who had set it up

and thats when she told me and mom

that she had to give her dream up.

 

No one could get there

100 acres 40miles outside of town

since her driveway is a riverwash

if it rained, help would be squashed.

 

Find a place in town she said

than call her back.

All mom wanted was to go home

but staying with me she would feel safe

she just hated leaving my father alone.

 

We called the lady and set it up

but the look on my mothers face made me

want to go throw up.

When I left her that night I hugged her tight

and vowed to myself that I would try to make it alright.

 

I called every agency under our sun

a little before 1am as the last one hung up

I had to face it to myself

on this i had not won.

 

Exsausted and sore

I sleplt through my alarms

and only woke up at 8:30

because my phone had charmed.

 

It was my mother and she sounded so happy

She told me that her old caretaker was there

and it was nice to finally talk to her

She was going to be discharged and since She was already there

did I want to just try to rest and let her take my mother home?

 

Thinking I could look for more places

and it would help alot

I said sure just as long as she made sure

hospice would be there on the spot

no letting her go without some medical shortstop.

 

next thing I know as I answer my phone

my mother is sobbing and asking why I wont let her go home

her voice was like a childs

and she sounded so confused

I tried to remind her what hospice said they could not do.

 

I hang up and call Hospice to say its a go for my home

that the hospital is about to discharge her

and someone there had to show.

The person I was speaking to seemed a little off

so I called my mothers social worker to help

get all this across.

Thats when I learned Her old caretaker was playing boss

 

She told everyone hospice wasnt needed and to just let her go home

it was all set, my mom was headed home.

I was told to get to the hospital right away

for She still had the legal papers that gave her sway.

 

i called That woman up as I raced for the door

told her I was on my way

and she wasnt needed anymore.

She told me she wasnt leaving

and there was nothing I could do

 

I said I had it, and she needed to go

her personal threat to me made me loose it

and my daughter grabbed me before I fell to the floor

 

shaking and screaming for help I tore down the road

I flew into the hospital yelling for security

She had left my mothers ward right before we arrived

Mom was so confused

I was a mess

and that woman was still there trying to turn things

when We finally left.

 

But much happened in between

that ive still got to get out yet.

